The Species Conservation Foundation consists of the Board of Directors, the Advisory Board and the office in Berlin.
All committee members works on a voluntary basis. The foundation's statutes ( in German only) cover all essential legal issues.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is the legal representative of the foundation and guarantor for the appropriate use of the financial ressources.

Prof. Dr. Jörg Junhold

Director Zoo Leipzig

Volker Homes
Deputy Chairman

Executive Director

der Zoologischen Gärten
(VdZ) e.V.

Jörg Adler

Director Allwetterzoo Münster, Ret.

Dr. Dag Encke

Tiergarten Nürnberg

Frank Petzold

Jürgen Wolters
*1951 – 2021

Executive Director
Arbeitsgemeinschaft Regenwald und
Artenschutz e.V. (ARA)

Advisory Board

The Advisory Council takes decisions on the allocation of funds and supervises the projects.


Simon Bruslund

Zoo Rostock, Bird Curator

Vogelpark Marlow, Curator

Dr. Jens-Ove Heckel

Zoological Society for the Conservation of Species and Populations (ZGAP), Chair


Sandra Honigs

Aquazoo Düsseldorf, Deputy Director


Heiner Klös

Zoological Garden Berlin, Curator


Mag. Regina Kramer

Tiergarten Schönbrunn, Curator


Roland Melisch

TRAFFIC International, Frankfurt am Main


Henry M. Mix

Naturschutz International e.V., Berlin


Roland Wirth

Zoological Society for the Conservation of Species and Populations (ZGAP), Advisory Board


Dr. Klaus Wünnemann

Tiergarten Heidelberg, Director


Prof. Dr. Thomas Ziegler

Curator Aquarium / Terrarium / Insectarium, Zoological Garden Cologne and Coordinator of the Zoo’s biodiversity and nature conservation projects in Vietnam and Laos


Thomas Tennhardt

Director of International Department and Executive Management Board Member, NABU

Executive Director


Dr. Tobias Kohl

Executive Director