The Species Conservation Foundation consists of the Council, the Advisory Council and the Office in Münster. All members of the committees work voluntarily for the Species Conservation Foundation. The Constitution of the Foundation (in German only) encompasses all fundamental legal issues.


The Council is the legal representative of the foundation and guarantor for the allocation of funds in accordance with the foundation’s charitable objectives.


Pr. Dr. Jörg Junhold, Chairman
Director, Leipzig Zoo, Germany


Volker Homes, Deputy Chairman
Executive Director, Association of Zoological Gardens (VdZ)


H. Jörg Adler
Director, Münster Zoo, Germany, retired


Dr. Dag Encke
Director, Nuremberg Zoo, Germany


Frank Petzold


Jürgen Wolters
Exectutive Director, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Regenwald and Artenschutz e.V. (ARA), Germany


Advisory Council

The Advisory Council takes decisions on the allocation of funds and supervises the course of the projects.


Dr. Ulrike Braband
Schellenberg Stiftung


Dr. Jens-Ove Heckel
Chairman, Zoological Society for the Conservation of Species and Populations (ZGAP), Germany
Direktor, Landau Zoo


Dr. Friederike von Houwald
Curator, Basel Zoo, Switzerland


Sandra Honigs
Deputy Director, Aquazoo Düsseldorf, Germany

Heiner Klös
Berlin Zoological Garden, Germany

Mag. Regina Kramer
Head of Department Reserch and Species Conservation, Schönbrunn Zoo, Austria


Roland Melisch
TRAFFIC International Germany, Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Henry M. Mix
Naturschutz International e.V., Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Gunther Nogge
Director, Cologne Zoo, Germany, retired

Dirk Petzold
Biologist, Working Group Zoo Biology Bielefeld, Germany


Roland Wirth
Advisory Council (Honorary Member), Zoological Society for the Conservation of Species and Populations (ZGAP), Germany

Dr. Klaus Wünnemann
Director, Zoo Heidelberg, Germany



The main office of the Species Conservation Foundation is located in Berlin, Germany.
Contact: Dr. Christian Matauschek (Executive Director)